Double Standards

Martin Taylor

Click to Buy

Album Download - $9.97

About the Album

It has taken more than thirty years for guitarist Martin Taylor to feel that the time was right to record an album he always planned to release. ‘Double Standards’, Taylor’s first solo album in five years is his most personal and expressive album to date, using only the voice of two guitars in harmony to create some of the most beautiful music ever recorded. Featuring two separate, overdubbed guitar tracks, Taylor has created a guitar duo album consisting only of himself.  ‘Double Standards’ highlights why Taylor has been described as “THE acoustic guitarist of his generation” and collaborated with a diverse range of artists including Stephane Grappelli, Chet Atkins, Jeff Beck, Joe Pass, Bill Wyman, Dionne Warwick, Bryn Terfel and Jamie Cullum.

The tracks on the album are all very personal to Martin and were chosen by taking great memories and key points in his career.  Some tunes like “Drop Me Off At Harlem” and “Jive At Five” date back to his earliest performances in 1978 when, at twenty two years old, he performed alongside his guitar mentor Ike Isaacs as the first ever resident musicians at the now legendary “Pizza On The Park” in London.

“I’ve recorded duets before using overdubbed guitars, I even did it once with 22 (guitars), but I am so pleased with the way this record has turned out. This is the record that I have wanted to make for ages and it’s even better than my expectations.” – Martin Taylor 2008


Martin Taylor (guitar)

Track Listing

  • Triste
  • Bluesette
  • Young and Foolish
  • Drop Me Off At Harlem
  • Alfie
  • When I Take My Sugar To Tea
  • Someone To Watch Over Me
  • Alice In Wonderland
  • Estate
  • Jive at Five
  • I Fall In Love Too Easily
  • Just Friends

Press Reviews

"There’s no escaping the fact that this is a spellbinding, classy, truly top-of-the-stack release whose appeal should by rights not be confined to guitar buffs." - Net Rhythms