Martin receives Lifetime Achievement Awards

Martin Taylor Lifetime Achievement AwardLast Saturday saw Martin receive a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Ards International Guitar Festival.

The award presentation, took place at the end of his solo set, to a standing ovation from the packed house at the Queen’s Hall, Newtonards, Northern Ireland, and to the surprise of Martin.

“I was totally stunned to receive this award, I didn’t know anything about it” said Martin “So many great players have been recipients in past years, and I feel so honored to join them and be part of this wonderful guitar festival”

Past recipients of the Ards International Guitar Festival Lifetime Achievement Award…

1999 Norman Watson
2000 Davey Graham
2001 Henry McCullough
2002 John Renbourn
2003 Louis Stewart
2004 John Martyn
2005 Arty McGlynn
2006 Martin Simpson
2007 Eric Bell
2008 Gordon Giltrap
2009 Pat McManus
2010 Gerry Donahue
2011 Carlos Bonell